a red and white logo with a white background
Formula 1

Chinese Grand Prix Sprint Qualifying Results

FanAmp Team
Read the latest F1 news from around the web
Download the app

Find out who is starting on the front row for the first Sprint Race of the 2024 season!

The drivers took to the track for the first sprint qualifying of the 2024 season! Find out who excelled and who struggled in Shanghai:

  • Within the first few minutes of SQ1, there were reports of rain as the weather was rapidly changing
  • Pierre Gasly and Esteban Ocon both didn't make it into SQ2 with Gasly qualifying in 16th and Ocon finishing the session in 17th
  • Yuki Tsunoda had a disappointing qualifying, only being able to put his car in 19th
  • Both of the Williams were eliminated in SQ1
  • SQ2 was delayed because the grass at Turn 5 caught on fire again
  • The rain came during the last three minutes of SQ2
  • George Russell had to abort his flying lap, putting him in 11th on the grid for the sprint race
  • Both of the Haas drivers didn't make it into SQ3
  • Zhou and Bottas made it into SQ3 for a very triumphant qualifying session
  • Charles Leclerc put his Ferrari into the wall as the track was much more slippery than the drivers and teams anticipated
  • All of the drivers struggled on the track with Max Verstappen losing two lap times due to track limits
  • Hamilton, Alonso, Verstappen and Norris were all in a very tight fight for pole
  • After a deleted track time, Lando Norris's time was reinstated and he will start in P1 for the sprint race

Chinese Grand Prix Sprint Qualifying Results

Position Driver Name Team Time
1 Lando Norris McLaren 1:57.940
2 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes 1:59.201
3 Fernando Alonso Aston Martin 1:59.915
4 Max Verstappen Red Bull Racing 2:00.028
5 Carlos Sainz Ferrari 2:00.214
6 Sergio Perez Red Bull Racing 2:00.375
7 Charles Leclerc Ferrari 2:00.566
8 Oscar Piastri McLaren 2:00.990
9 Valtteri Bottas Stake F1 Team 2:01.044
10 Guanyu Zhou Stake F1 Team 2:03.537
11 George Russell Mercedes 1:36.345
12 Kevin Magnussen Haas F1 Team 1:36.473
13 Nico Hulkenberg Haas F1 Team 1:36.478
14 Daniel Ricciardo Visa Cash App RB 1:36.553
15 Lance Stroll Aston Martin 1:36.632
16 Pierre Gasly Alpine 1:37.632
17 Esteban Ocon Alpine 1:37.720
18 Alexander Albon Williams 1:37.812
19 Yuki Tsunoda Visa Cash App RB 1:37.892
20 Logan Sargeant Williams 1:37.923


Chinese Grand Prix Sprint Shootout Results FanAmp

Head over to FanAmp and download the app for all things Formula 1!

Chat with fellow fans and join the social club where you'll never miss out on anything F1 related.

Read all the latest Formula 1 news from around the web in the app
Download the app

Related Articles